Osceola County Jail Population Data

Osceola County inmate population data shows how many people sit in county custody on a given day. The county posts a current inmate population count and a daily jail population statistics report. You can look up the live count, then open the daily report for the full set of categories. This page explains where the jail population data lives, how often it updates, and how to read it the right way. It also sets the local count against state and national jail trends. The aim is plain facts, clear sources, and no guesswork about numbers the county has not published.

Public Record Search

Sponsored Results

How to Look Up Osceola County Jail Population Data

The jail population number lives in two official spots run by Osceola County Corrections. The first is the current inmate population search. The second is the Daily Jail Population Statistics report, posted as a PDF. Both come from the county, not a third party. Each one answers a different question. The live search tells you who is in custody now. The daily PDF breaks the count into categories the county tracks.

The current inmate population page updates several times per day. When a person is released, they drop off the list at the next update. So the count you see is a point in time, not a fixed total. It moves with each booking and each release. The page also notes that the count covers all people in Osceola County Corrections custody. That includes people in the jail and people held elsewhere under county custody.

On May 19, 2026, the public search reported 882 people in custody during the day, and the end-of-day Daily Jail Population Statistics PDF reported a current jail population of 857 as of 11:59 PM. Both figures are custody counts. The PDF holds the official daily categories: pretrial versus sentenced, felony versus misdemeanor, gender, race, Hispanic heritage, and average length of stay. To read current numbers, open it directly.

Read the count with care. The headline number is a snapshot. It changes through the day. The daily report stamps a date, so always check that date. A number from last week is not today's number. If you need a value for a report or filing, write down the date and source you pulled it from.

Note: The 857 figure from the May 19, 2026 daily PDF is a custody count. It includes people in the Osceola County Jail and people in county Corrections custody housed elsewhere. It is not a bed-by-bed count inside one building.


Osceola County Jail Capacity Overview

Capacity tells you how many beds a jail can hold. It matters because a count near or over capacity signals crowding. For Osceola County, the official daily statistics PDF posts a current jail population (857 on May 19, 2026) but does not list a rated bed capacity in the same file. So this page does not state a hard bed number. The county owns that figure, and Corrections is the right place to ask.

The table below lays out the custody categories the county uses, with capacity marked honestly. The population cell now carries the verified daily figure. Treat the daily PDF as the live authority.

Facility / Custody CategorySourceCapacityNotes
Osceola County Jail / Corrections custodyCounty Corrections daily reportNot stated on daily PDF; ask Corrections for rated capacityMay 19, 2026 daily PDF: current jail population 857; 37 inmates awaiting classification; 26 booked that day; 22 released.
Housed elsewhere under Osceola custodyCurrent population page noteNot separately statedCounted in the published total per the page note.

Why mark cells this way? Honesty. A made-up bed count helps no one. The county owns its capacity data. If you need it for a study or a story, open the daily PDF or ask Corrections direct. The 857 point-in-time count is real and sourced. The bed capacity is not in the daily PDF.


Average Daily Population

Average daily population, often shortened to ADP, is the mean number of people held over a set span. It smooths out the daily swings. One day may spike after a busy arrest night. The next may dip after a court release. ADP gives a steadier read than a single snapshot. Jails and researchers lean on it for budgets, staffing, and trend work.

For Osceola County, an exact ADP figure was not extracted from the official daily statistics report in our research pass. So this page will not state a county ADP number. To build one, you would pull the daily counts over a month or year and average them. The daily PDF is the raw source for that math. The county may also publish ADP in budget or board documents.

What we can confirm is the method and the source. The daily PDF for May 19, 2026 reported a current jail population of 857 and an average length of stay of 26.05 days. The length-of-stay figure tells you how long the typical person sits in jail before release. It is a close cousin of ADP and is published right on the daily PDF. A true ADP would average many such days. Do not treat one day's 857 as the ADP. They are not the same thing. For context on how jail ADP behaves at scale, the Bureau of Justice Statistics tracks national jail population averages each year.

Note: A single-day count is a snapshot. The PDF posts a daily average length of stay (26.05 days on May 19, 2026), but a long-run ADP must be built from the daily PDFs over time.


Demographic Breakdown

A demographic breakdown splits the jail count by traits like sex, race, and Hispanic heritage. It helps the public see who the system holds. The county's daily statistics PDF publishes a full population-wide split. The figures below come straight from the Daily Jail Population Statistics report dated May 19, 2026 (current jail population 857).

DemographicCountPercent
Male72184%
Female13616%
White(per PDF)71.04%
Black(per PDF)28.49%
Other race(per PDF)0.47%
Hispanic heritage(per PDF)47.25%
Non-Hispanic heritage(per PDF)52.75%

Sex skews heavily male, in line with national jail trends. The race and Hispanic-heritage splits are tracked separately on the county PDF, which is why the two sets of percentages each sum to 100% on their own. The county's inmate detail pages also show race, sex, age category, and physical descriptors for each person, so a per-person view is just one click from the roster.

For state and national context, two sources help. The Bureau of Justice Statistics reports jail population by race and sex at the national level. The Prison Policy Initiative publishes state-level breakdowns and county snapshots for Florida. Read those as wider context, not as Osceola County's exact figures.

Prison Policy Initiative state-level incarceration context for Florida

The Prison Policy Initiative page shown above offers Florida state context that frames the local picture.


Pretrial vs Sentenced Population

Jails hold two broad groups. One group waits for trial. They have not been convicted. The other group serves a sentence, often a short county term. The split matters. A high pretrial share often points to bond and case-flow issues, not crime rates. Many people sit in jail simply because they cannot post bond.

Osceola County's daily statistics PDF posts the split each day. The May 19, 2026 PDF reported 828 non-sentenced inmates against 29 sentenced, out of a total of 857. That is a 97% pretrial share and a 3% sentenced share. The numbers underline the same national pattern: most people sitting in a local jail at any given moment are still awaiting case resolution.

StatusCountPercent
Non-sentenced (pretrial)82897%
Sentenced293%
Total857100%

The same PDF splits each group by charge level. Non-sentenced is 650 felony plus 158 misdemeanor and a handful of other holds. Sentenced is 3 felony plus 26 misdemeanor. The pattern fits BJS national jail data and the state work of the Prison Policy Initiative. For the live Osceola split, open the daily PDF.


Misdemeanor vs Felony Population

Charge level shapes the jail count too. Felonies carry longer terms and higher bonds. Misdemeanors usually mean short stays. The mix of the two drives both the headcount and the average stay length. A jail heavy with felony holds tends to keep people longer than one full of minor charges.

In Osceola County records, charge level shows on each inmate profile through the statute cited. Florida statute codes map to charge type. But the daily PDF also rolls up the count across the whole population, which is the cleaner read for big-picture work. The May 19, 2026 PDF reported the following judicial-status split.

Charge LevelCountPercent
Felony67679%
Misdemeanor16119%
Other202%
Total857100%

The felony share is heavy, which fits the average length of stay of 26.05 days reported on the same PDF. Felony holds run longer than misdemeanor holds. For broad context, BJS notes that jails hold a mix of both, with short misdemeanor stays and longer felony holds. Read that as national context. The county's own daily PDF holds the live local figures.

Note: The May 19, 2026 daily PDF also flagged 77 failure-to-appear holds, split into 51 felony FTAs and 26 misdemeanor FTAs.


Mental Health and Medical Population

Jails also hold people who need mental health care or ongoing medical care. This group often needs more staff time and resources. National studies show a large share of jail residents report a mental health condition. Care needs add cost and complexity to running a jail. Many counties run special units or programs for this group.

Osceola County does not publish a mental health or medical population figure in the daily statistics source we reviewed. So this page states no county number for it. Health data is also sensitive and often protected, which limits what any jail posts in public counts. For specific care questions, the county Corrections office is the right contact.

For scale, look to national context. The Bureau of Justice Statistics has surveyed mental health among jail and prison populations and found high rates of reported conditions. The Prison Policy Initiative also writes on how care needs strain local jails. Treat both as national and state context, not as Osceola County data.


National and State Context

Local numbers make more sense next to wider trends. The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the main federal source for jail data. BJS runs an annual census and survey of jails. It reports the total U.S. jail population, the rate per 100,000 residents, and splits by sex, race, and conviction status. These are national figures. They give a yardstick for any single county.

Bureau of Justice Statistics jail population data resource

The BJS site shown above hosts the national jail data sets. For state-level context, the Prison Policy Initiative publishes Florida incarceration rates and county snapshots. PPI work helps frame how Florida sits against other states and how local jails fit the state picture.

The table below compares jail population per 100,000 people across three levels. The county cell is marked honestly. The daily PDF gives a raw custody count (857 on May 19, 2026) but not a rate per 100,000. State and national figures should be read from the cited sources, which update each year.

LevelJail Population per 100,000Source
Osceola CountyRaw count 857 on May 19, 2026; rate per 100,000 not statedCounty Corrections daily report
Florida (state)See current state contextPrison Policy Initiative
United States (national)See current national rateBureau of Justice Statistics

Why not fill in the state and national cells with hard numbers? Because they shift each year, and the cited sources hold the current figures. Linking to the source beats freezing a stale number on a static page. Open BJS and PPI for the live values.



Searching for Osceola County Inmate Records by Name

This page covers the jail population count, not single-person lookups. To find one named person in custody, use the inmate records page instead. That page walks through the current inmate search, where you look up a person by name and open a profile with booking details, charges, and bond.


Where the Data Comes From

Every number on this page traces to an official or named source. The live custody count comes from the Osceola County current inmate population search. The daily category breakdown lives in the county's Daily Jail Population Statistics PDF. Both are run by Osceola County Corrections and Jail Services. The county hub links all of these tools in one spot.

For state and national context, this page cites the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the Prison Policy Initiative. Those sources fill in trend and rate context the county does not publish. We label that context as state or national, never as Osceola County's exact data. The hard local numbers on this page come from the Daily Jail Population Statistics PDF for May 19, 2026 (current jail population 857, 84% male, 71.04% white, 97% pretrial, 79% felony, average length of stay 26.05 days).

If you need more, several related pages help. See inmate records to look up a single person. See released inmates for release verification steps. For charge and case context, check arrest records and warrant records. Common questions are answered on the FAQ page.